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Welcome to the sixteenth installment of Bullet Points. I'm Charles Ryan, one of the designers of the d20
Modern Roleplaying Game. I'm here to answer your questions about the game, offer advice on tricky
issues, and give you a little peek into the minds of the designers. You'll be hearing from me every couple of
weeks.

If you've checked out the earlier installments of Bullet Points, you know the format. Every two weeks | pick
an issue that's provoked a lot of questions or comments, begin with a general discussion of the topic, and
then answer specific questions related to it. If there are any unrelated but pressing questions in my
mailbox, | might tackle them at the end of the column, but only if there's room and they can't wait for an
appropriately themed column.

The Evolution of a Game

In this installment, I'm going to answer a few questions about FX effects and supernatural creatures in the
d20 Modern Roleplaying Game. But before | get started, I'd like to address one issue that's come up a
couple of times in email and on the d20 Modern message boards here on the Wizards of the Coast
website -- Dungeons & Dragons v.3.5. The revised edition of the D&D game has been out for nearly two
months now, and if you're a D&D player, you undoubtedly already have your copies of the new core books.

The question plaguing some d20 Modern players is this: How will the rules changes to the D&D game
affect the d20 Modern game? Will there soon be an updated version or second edition of the d20 Modern
Roleplaying Game and the Urban ArcanaCampaign Setting that incorporates the new rules, classes,
spells, and so forth from the new version of the D&D game? Should players use the newer versions of
spells and feats from D&D v.3.5 instead of those from the d20 Modern Roleplaying Game?

The short answer is an emphatic no. The d20 Modern game is not Dungeons & Dragons. Although they
both use the d20 System, they're different games, so changes to one don't affect the other.

Besides, if you take a close look at the d20 ModernRoleplaying Game, you'll see that in many ways the
rules are closer to D&D v.3.5 than they are to the unrevised 3rd edition D&D rules. That shouldn't be
surprising, since as you may have guessed, the d20 Modern game was in design and development at
much the same time as D&D v.3.5 was. What you probably didn't know is that | share an office with Andy
Collins, the lead developer of the D&D v.3.5 Player's Handbook. There's always plenty of communication
among the designers at Wizards of the Coast, but when two designers sit right next to each other all day,
it's especially easy for them to sync up design strategy. Of course, even though the two projects
overlapped a great deal, d20 Modern was many months further along than the new edition of D&D was at
any given time. Thus, D&D v.3.5 continued to evolve long after d20 Modern was complete, and some of
the rules naturally diverged during that time. And, of course, some rules are different simply because the
two games have different settings and different needs.

It's not inconceivable that a revision to d20 Modern might come along sometime in the future, although no
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such project is currently planned. And such a revision would probably incorporate some of the
improvements to the d20 System that ended up in D&D v.3.5 but didn't make it into the first edition of d20
Modern. Keep in mind, however, that D&D has undergone some changes that do not impact the rules of
d20 Modern at all.

Questions and Answers

| think I've talked enough about the impact of D&D v.3.5. Now let's get to some questions about d20
Modern!

Does the Occultist's scribe scrolls ability really just amount to "finding scrolls" (or
researching where to find them)?

In a word, yes. By doing arcane research, the Occultist gets new scrolls at each level by uncovering or
piecing together spells and writing them in the form of one-use scrolls. He does not actually scribe them in
the sense that a Mage (or a D&D wizard) does.

How "real" is a monster of the id? Can a werewolf created as a monster of the id give
someone lycanthropy?

For all intents and purposes, monsters of the id are 100% real. Thus, if you're bitten a monster-of-the-id
werewolf, you can contract lycanthropy. Likewise, if you're killed by a monster-of-the-id vampire's energy
drain, you become a spawn of that vampire.

The only caveat is that if such an effect would break the "rules of reality” for your campaign, it doesn't
happen. For example, if you're running an Agents of PSI game in which psionics are real but other
supernatural things (such as vampires and werewolves) aren't, then a monster of the id can't suddenly
change the rules of reality and populate your world with real vampires and werewolves. Of course, since
monsters of the id respawn in 1d20 hours, it's always possible that a new monster of the id might take the
form of a spawned vampire or lycanthrope. Such a creature wouldn't really be a spawn of the original,
though; it would just be a new iteration of the original id monster.

No critical range is given for the psi blade. | proposed to my group that it should be 19-20/x2
because there has to be areason to get the psi blade over, say, alongsword. Is that correct?

Nope. The critical range for the psi blade is 20/x2, just as it is for any weapon with no specified range. The
advantages that it provides over a longsword (or any other higher-damage weapon) are that it can't be
taken away from the wielder, it's infinitely concealable, and it gets a free enhancement bonus when its
wielder reaches higher levels.

When a Battlemind imprints a tattoo, he has to make a Craft (visual arts) check. Failure means
he's wasted his raw materials (for which he had to make a Wealth check and maybe lost
Wealth). Yet the Craft (visual arts) skill is not a class skill for the Battlemind. Is that correct?

No, it's not. Craft (visual arts) should be a class skill for the Battlemind -- and also for the Mage, for that
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matter.

If a replacement is created of a character who smokes or is addicted to drugs, would the
replacement share those addictions? What if the original has a disease, such as Alzheimers?
Is that replicated as well?

A replacement doesn't share the same life experiences as its original; therefore, it doesn't suffer any of the
original's nonpermanent afflictions. The following situations offer some concrete examples.

. A replacement gets full hit points, even if the original was injured when the sample was taken.

. A replacement gets the original's normal ability scores (up to 12), even if the original had ability
damage when the sample was taken.

. A replacement does not suffer the effects of poison or disease, even if the original was poisoned or
diseased when the sample was taken.

Any permanent damage, however, is reflected in the replacement. For example, if the primary had suffered
a permanent ability drain, the replacement would also have the new, lower ability score.

We don't really have rules for addiction and long-term congenital diseases; for the most part, such issues
are best handled by your house rules or through roleplaying. However, it's reasonable to assume that a
replacement would not suffer those afflictions, since they are a result of the original's life experiences. On
the other hand, a replacement that was created to mimic an original who smokes might take up smoking in
order to better replicate that character.

ﬂ Where do potions of cure light wounds come from? What about scrolls of raise dead?
Items such as these can come from either of two sources.

First, characters belonging to several of the advanced classes and prestige classes in the Urban
ArcanaCampaign Setting can create items such as these. If you want your character to create them, that's
probably the most important source for you.

If you're simply wondering where those items come from, don't forget the other source: Shadow. When
creatures come into this world from Shadow, they often bring objects with them. In fact, the game setting
assumes that many magic items found in our world actually originated in Shadow.

An undead creature has no Constitution score. Is it possible for such a creature to make a
Constitution check? How long can it hold its breath, run, or do other things that depend on its
Constitution score?

Undead are untiring and don't need to breathe, so they automatically succeed on any check or save related
to fatigue or breathing. They are also immune to a great many effects, including any effect requiring a
Fortitude save (unless it works on objects or is harmless). When the rules call for a Constitution check and
the undead creature is not immune to the effect, it uses its Charisma modifier in place of its Constitution
modifier. A lot of these same points are also true for constructs. See Undead on page 223 of the d20
Modern Roleplaying Game for full details.
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t How can you figure out the massive damage threshold for an undead creature?
Undead creatures are immune to massive damage.

Is it possible (or logical) that a creature with no Constitution score can take the Toughness
feat? Its effect appears to derive from physical durability, which is based on Constitution!

The effect of Toughness is +3 hit points. That has nothing to do with Constitution, nor does the feat have
any Constitution score requirement. For an undead creature, the feat just represents a slightly more solid
body; for a construct, it represents a slightly tougher construction.

‘ Is there a limit to the number of beings a vampire can dominate?
The only limit on the ability involves how often it can be used (one creature per round).

Can a vampire continually attempt to dominate someone who has succeeded on a saving
throw against that effect, or does that person become immune to the vampire's domination
after making a successful save?

The target does not become immune on a successful saving throw. The vampire can certainly attempt to
dominate that same creature again -- but at the cost of another attack action.

ﬁ Can a vampire use his domination ability to force a person to invite him into her home?

Absolutely. Because of its inviolate sanctuary weakness, a vampire can't enter a residence unless invited.
But that doesn't mean it can't use its abilities on someone in the residence, if the situation allows it. So a
vampire could, for instance, dominate the person who answers the door when he rings the bell.
Alternatively, the vampire could dominate someone who is out on the town, then go home with his victim.
Either way, once the victim invites the vampire into her home, he is free to enter. (And what victim, while
held in unswerving allegiance to the vampire, wouldn't invite him in?)

Do you have a rules question about the d20 Modern Roleplaying Game? Send it to
bulletpoints@wizards.com. For the quickest possible answer, please put the topic of your question in the
subject line and keep the question as succinct as possible. If you have more than one question, feel free to
send two or more emails -- but for best results please include only one question per email unless your
guestions are very closely related to one another. Please don't expect a direct answer by email. Check
back here every other week for the latest batch of answers!
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